top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

F1 2020


This is the official Formula 1 and 2 racing simulation game published by code masters. It comes on all for prominent consoles, PC and Google Stadia. Now this is not the latest version anymore but for me it had been a while since I got my hands on a Formula 1 game as I had lost interest due to my own personal political reasons about what had been happening in the real life sport. However here we prioritize what the video game is as opposed to any other agendas and misguided ones too. We want to help develop this hobby or at least give a contribution to the betterment of it. Now lets take a brief look at this game focusing on the few pivotal aspects in this case being graphics and gameplay.

We have to remember F1 games kind of retrospectively release as opposed to most annual sport release games. To give you to understand you find that it comes out roughly mid year of the calendar year it projects on the game cover. Call it weird but its more of an attempt to capture real life events and stats as officially declared by an ongoing or past season instead of speculation which is more of a general concept of what the likes of FIFA do. Games like FIFA, the disastrous efootball PES 22 in particular etc give ratings and all before the season and release a year prior too but have now been recently playing catchup to actually give live ratings as opposed to default. In any case nothing is wrong with both approaches as long as we get the games we want.

Graphics

I have less to say but in as little there is more to appreciate. Its basically authentic in most ways you hardly ever find anything visually distracting. It will have to be knit picking of which I personally didn't bump into any hurdles that disturbed my experience. In every way the game was designed to really immerse you into the fundamentals of what a real life F1 driver feels and goes through. The character models are well designed, an exact carbon copy of what the real life F1 drivers look like even your team of engineers are properly designed too. So overall the graphics are solid though a slight little complaint would be I don't really see a big difference between last gen and current gen but that we can leave it to personal perception right?

Gameplay

As we know most official Sports games aim to replicate the exact real life feel of things, Code Masters does not come any short of that in any way. As a Formula 1 fan you are given the complete experience through the career mode where you start your team from scratch managing all the fundamentals of the sport all the way up to glory. This mode is what I gave most attention to as I could also find time to play it. There is an online experience to this too but I did not play it due to time constraints but as you hover over the option its more of a global online engagement and no more of driver assist editing but rather an experience that's uniformly set across the board with other online drivers. So if you are into that just know its there.

I love the attention to detail and that you can customize your racing experience from game difficulty to the overall feel of the game. So I could tailor my experience to my needs therefor making the game what I would want it to be. If you are one of those experienced drivers from a simulation perspective of course then you can undo most driver assists and go for the raw difficult feel.

For new comers and even less experienced drivers like myself I really felt welcome and it also gave me the chance to develop my skill and enjoy the gameplay in every respect. So it caters for both passionate fans and casual fans of the sport. You find that with passionate fans they want to get that authenticity they visualize and imagine about the real life sport. So they tend to choose game modes that follow that pattern of inspiration.

You can see above how I was fiddling my way through custom making a brand don't lough at my color choice I am not good at colors sometimes.

The driving felt controlled, solid as I blasted through every stretch and corner. I love the stretch because its a DRS glory land fans will know what this is :) . In my younger days I loved to play these games without a single assist but its too late for that now as there's just too much on the plate. You have got to love the gameplay physics in conjunction with the weather effects how they both interact with each other together with your driver engineered choices. Chief among all aspects was the handling, I loved every bit of it. Yes I edited it to go easy and spare my analogue sticks nonetheless it wasn't those games whereby you keep losing control off the road but rather I stayed glued to the track making me feel like one good old driving expert. The experience is there don't dare challenge me, pun intended :).

I think I shall continue my love for the sport with this true thrilling experience. Before we conclude if you love racing games you may notice that if you jump from a Formula 1 game to e.g Forza or GranTurisimo they are really going to feel slow for you especially if you love that high speed F1 feel. So perhaps once you go F1 you might never go back. F1 2020 was a real masterclass derivative of the real life sport and it is worth the money and time.


That's that for now, it would be interesting to hear your thoughts about the game. Cheers.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page