top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Injustice Gods Among Us


Released in 2013, developed by NetherRealm Studios and published by Warner Bros Injustice Gods Among us was a huge leap coming out at the end of the PS3 and Xbox 360 era. You could easily tell at the time that it was one of the best looking fighting games maxing out the consoles. In comparison to Mortal Kombat 9 (developed by the same studio and publisher) which had came out earlier in 2011, to my eyes I found Injustice characters more sharper and defined though both games use the same engine Unreal Engine 3. Lets briefly indulge in the highlights of the experience of this 8 year old title.

Now I initially played this on my PS3 at the time, the game released around April 2013 and my brother who is more of a DC universe fan compelled me to buy it and I eventually did and to my surprise it lived beyond my expectations. I played it again on my PC (which is now old) 6 years ago and it did look very much similar to the console version just with a little more sharpness and lighting, and finally played it again recently on Series X and it still looks great. Definitely it does hold up in todays terms and plays very similar to Injustice 2 just with old visuals. One thing I liked from this game was its menu/UI presentation, it looks very good compared to Injustice 2 although when selecting the characters Injustice 2 looks much better due to the pre-match buildup where the characters hit each other in a provocative way.


Gameplay:

The gameplay was something I mastered and the above video clip is when I played it yesterday after roughly 6 years since I stopped playing it. I still remembered how to use Superman on hard difficulty though I was a bit rusty but managed to still pull a win. Its easy and fun to play with lots of explosive moments which was something you didn't get in Mortal Kombat 9. I like how the characters took damage with cloth and skin like peeling really good attention to detail. It was also in MK9 in a more gruesome way though.


Its very easy to master the game and there's very little difference compared to Injustice 2 but what's notable apart from the visuals is the game speed. This Injustice seems a bit fast paced in a slight way though which might kind of put you off if you are coming from the second but honestly it didn't distract me from playing as I could hardly feel it. Probably its due to the animation in the fight scene layout being far away compared to Injustice 2 whereby the characters are zoomed in during combat.

It easily goes down as a fighting game antique, you can go back and have fun and not feel like you are playing a very old game. Real effort was put in this and no wonder it holds to this day. Its a solid foundation to what they eventually did with the second edition of this game.


That's all for now and I would like to hear from your side. Your support is much appreciated cheers.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page