top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Need For Speed Rivals


The game was published by EA and released in Nov 2013 for last and new gen consoles of the time together with PC. Before I go any further I want to get one thing clear, this is not the usual full comprehensive personal review experience from my side because I encountered serious game breaking issues which I would love to think they were only limited to my side and not the game app because if its the game app then that would be sad for other players who may want to play it too. Its the second game were are had such a weird experience because another game which was Rainbow Six Siege although it did not snap out it never gave me a sessions ( I couldn't play like COD Warzone) as an online game would do so it might be a regional issue I don't know.


I tried to play it after downloading but it constantly snapped me out no matter how hard I tried. I even went back to my older Xbox console and still had the same issue. I couldn't play it on my PS5 because I had no space for it so it was a back and forth of redownloads on my Xbox consoles. I am not sure what caused all this mayhem. Nonetheless I just want to briefly share with you the little experience I got.

in-game simple map

Its a very much arcade racing game in nature and personally apart from this one I have only played two Need For Speeds and that is Need for Speed 4 and Underground, yeah those are a real while back. Now first impressions were very fine, I liked the acoustics, movie intro and the simple menu presentation which I could easily get along with. For example customizing your car is very Arcade, straightforward and not sophisticated at all with a simple map. Compared to Underground its very much an improvement no doubt. Though the graphics look dated I still loved them especially that kind of shiny wet road surface which also reminded me of Forza Horizon games in a subtle way of course. The game has a thriller feel and look enshrouded in this golden sky atmospheric look.

Its more of a fun game than an actual racing simulator, so when playing with friend/s for a frenzy speed run It has some good adrenaline vibes. The only two things I didn't like were the car handling and view. Car handling was really bad for me because apart from not being a good drifter It always felt like when at high speed and approaching a corner I lose control of my car. Yeah I did hit the brakes but the swivel and timing seemed to never work. The second thing is I would have loved if they could have given a better interior view than just seeing the road because seeing the road takes me back to the old PlayStation 1 Ridge Racer Type 4 experience which is not ideal for a modern game, well not recent modern but modern compared to Ridge Racer Type 4. I drive better inside the car.

I would have loved to share more but I cant unfortunately however the beauty about Need For Speed is the thriller atmosphere they engulf you in. Its their identity and what makes them unique. I am yet to play more Need For Speed games after this one and share them with you but for now that's all I got :-( . I would love to hear your full experience, cheers.

6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Kommentar


Bhuba
Bhuba
12. Juli 2021

One of my favorites!

It's not the best though like NFS heat is much better.

Gefällt mir
bottom of page