top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Train Sim World 2 (a game I failed)


Initially released on 20 August 2020 and developed by Dovetail Games it came out for PS4, Xbox One and Windows PC. One thing to take note on this is that its a simulation video game, I failed to take note of that and I paid the price, lets find out why.

From a simulation perspective everything seems to be in order and a train enthusiast will definitely like this. This game taught me one thing and that is there is a difference between a gamer and a simulation gamer. If you are both you are lucky because I found out that I don't have both spheres to the degree I thought I had (i.e a versatile video game player), we will get to that in a moment.

Graphics

There is no disappointment when it comes to this as the game is aiming to replicate a real life train scenario. I played this on my last gen Xbox and you can also play it on your e.g. Series X/S with some enhancements. So from the perspective of a last gen machine its good to look at no complaints at all.

Gameplay

We have a problem here. A Bevan Problem. I couldn't move the train. Yeah you can lough, its actually the first game I failed to progress any further not due to lack of interest but couldn't manage to play it. I didn't want to resort to YouTube channels on how to play the game because I found that to be very inconvenient. As a player with your game you must just learn the ropes and find it compatible or at least rather playable. So I did everything and got in the train and there it was I couldn't go anywhere. I thought I was going to get a continuous tutorial to move the train but that didn't happen, I had a deja vu of being in a mechanical engineering class. The train cockpit controls were in German although the tutorial narration that eventually stopped was english. The only thing I did right was putting brakes on a stationery train, fiddling around with the controls like a 7 year old in a car drivers seat and walked out of the train and deleted the game for more space and that was all done after a good 30mins of sitting in the virtual train cockpit.


So that's all for gameplay you can lough if you want to :) . Sad to say I don't think I will have any interest in playing this, It didn't work for me but hey it does look great and promising just bear in mind its a true train sim so yeah more like for people aspiring to drive trains I guess. That's all I have to say, enjoy and cheers.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page