top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Yakuza Like A Dragon (thoughts)


Yakuza Like A Dragon is role playing video game developed and published by Sega late 2020 for last gen consoles and Current gen versions of both Sony and Microsoft consoles launching earlier this year. So Its on both last gen and current gen consoles and PC. I found this to be a very interesting title for a couple of reasons I am going to share with you in a moment below focusing on our usual ggs (graphics, gameplay and story).

Graphics

While not having played all Yakuza games I found the visuals very impressive both for last gen and current gen consoles. Playing on either gen machine really doesn't count excerpt from a performance perspective were I found it more stable on my new Xbox than my old Xbox. Character models and skin textures are really good, I have nothing much to say because its that good. The only thing that tires me is the Tokyo town setup, I find it very clustered and limits the game world to some extent but nonetheless I think its more of my preference than something that would obstruct you as a gamer.

Gameplay

When it comes to this segment at first I did not like the gameplay compared to the previous titles. I found it more of a classic Final Fantasy style of button command prompts than the usual combo button mash approach. It seemed as if divorced to the norm of fighting games wherein you got to know your buttons and combos as opposed to a seemingly interactive gaming approach. However as time went on I adjusted and saw the probable advantages of this approach as opposed to the former.

With this new style of gameplay new players easily fit in, there is less stress of knowing combos which you might not even fully utilize when needed also its healthy for your controller and just generally a simpler user friendly approach.

So when it comes to actual fight engagements its going to be quiet a different feel for you if you are a hardcore Yakuza fan. There is something I did not like when it comes to interaction with game world NPCs and in cutscenes too. They seemed to mix the Yakuza 3 way of dialogue whereby you see text as your character talks to another character and the volume drops and it resorts to native Japanese voices while English subtitles show and then again the modern style of actually having the cutscene or dialogue in English with the character voices. I do not know if this was a requirement for the code for the game to run well but I think they shouldn't have mixed this.

The menu is great, the character upgrade system is really good and clear. Its a cleaner game presentation than the older titles. Customizations weren't hard at all as everything is well placed and defined.

Story

Here I am a bit conflicted as I liked Kyru than Kasuga. I felt more like a bad ass as the Dragon of Dojima, however Kasuga works for me too. His character is essential due to the direction of the story in this game. I like how he is very naïve at times and irrational. I like how they introduce his background to you and his life experiences that make him what he is. Regarding Yakuza games if there was a world top ten of video game storylines Yakuza should be there. The stories are the spine and we can say the engine of the game. Everything has purpose to it and you can feel the time and dedication taken to write the masterpiece storylines. So surely in this respect you are not going to be disappointed even if its your first Yakuza game. Taking the RPG approach actually took this game to the next level. I enjoyed every aspect of the story from this game its really fantastic.

Its clearly one of the finest games you would want to play on any console of choice though for the best visual results you stick to the premium hardware. Whether you choose to buy or download it on Gamepass either way its worth it.


That's it for now, please like subscribe and join us. Cheers!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page