top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Assassins Creed Odyssey

Updated: Dec 2, 2020


Assassins creed took an interesting focus into Greek history which was something that turned my attention.

The game lighting and colors look great, a larger map, improved gameplay in terms of combat the gear and loot system as well was good for me. I like the menu system too very much an improvement from Origins.


The sea battles and water physics were excellent perhaps the best in the series. You had more to do at sea as much as land which wasn't the case with Origins. My favorite part of the game is where I can infiltrate big forts and be stealthy all the way to the last soldier.

Again my favorite protagonist is Kassandra I feel it would have been best if the game was all about her. Alexios for me seemed to lack that masculinity shown in the 300 movie which I think was needed for the Greek setting. He also seemed to have an emotional disconnect, poor facial and voice expression to my liking.

Kassandra seemed involved more in the game with a sort of wonder woman charisma. I liked the mercenary system as well. It supported the plot very well. I do have a couple of things I didn't like about this game. First is the way the character walks. After playing Assassins Creed since AC2 the way the character models walked seemed to have that "assassins swagger" about it more human and less cartoony or robotic like. The second thing is the story. Clearly the story and side missions were not in sync. There were so many side missions repetitive and not related to the story, "misthios deliver this to my husband" was one of the popular irritating side missions I experienced. There were also so many other unnecessary side missions which were a distraction to the main story. Most of them were very short-lived.

The game for me wasn't an assassin game but more like a God of war setup and this can be seen by firstly no need to be stealthy, addition of mythical creatures(which wasn't really a bad idea but still unlike AC) and the war battles between Athenians and Spartans.

During combat as well it seemed as though your enemy would take a variety of brutal slashes and just keep standing as if nothing is happening and only the life moving which to me was clumsy and to counter this you just had to power up and beat them all with one hit per foe. I do think AC Origins had a better environment and NPCs(they seemed more defined less crowded and relevant) than Odyssey.

What I am looking forward to for this game according to the way Ubisoft now releases its titles is nothing really. Its simply goodbye Greece. Overall its an enjoyable game gameplay-wise leaving you with a lot to do for hours considering its RPG elements. Let me know your thoughts and as usual what I say is not the standard its just what I think and please support by subscribing. For further content you can follow my gamertag Bevan naveb1.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page