top of page

Assassins Creed Valhalla on Series X


Released:10 November 2020

Platform:SX,SS,PS5,PC,Xbox One,PS4,

Developer: Ubisoft Montreal


Graphics

I have to say I held wrong opinions about this game based on some peoples comments about it but after coming late to the party and playing it myself this turns out to be the best AC game i have played after Syndicate. I did play Origins and Odyssey but Syndicate was the last i really enjoyed. The Greek setting was nice but felt too overwhelming. Anyway I do like that it seems like the game engine here was being utilised even better with better facial expressions and animations than the previous game though not by a big margin. Overall I am generally satisfied with the graphics although they are not groundbreaking.


Gameplay

I play this in Performance mode on the SX and its generally very stable excerpt some areas with weird frame drops. I enjoy the hack and slash and its easily the prime reason I play this game. It feels and plays a lot better than Odyssey in many ways even though you don't get those vast sea battle encounters that really made the Greek setting shine.

I love those brutal finishers and how challenging the AI is. Overall good gameplay.


Story

Still in progress for me but liking its direction with just one complaint of irrelevant quests added on the mission checklist. It kind of bloats the game in a way especially the Asgard dream missions I felt were not necessary. Also my general resentment for the animus which is the most irrelevant thing added in AC games.

Aside from that the Viking setting is very appealing to me with a very engaging story that's easy to follow straightforward in a way and still interesting. This is one of those examples again whereby you play for yourself and find out as you may never know and I did find out a good experience.


Pros

Good graphics

Good gameplay

Good story


Cons

Some irrelevant quests

The irrelevant Animus

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page