top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Call of duty Black Ops III


A 2015 release developed by Treyarch and released for PS4, 3, Xbox One, 360 and PC, Call of duty Black Op3 comes as a pretty 1st person shooter. Whenever I played Call of Duty games I always focused on versions produced by Infinity Ward and thought they were the best of the franchise. This alone made me miss out of the first two releases of this game only to experience it later and on a next gen hardware.

From the get go you are presented by high end visuals which are dominated by smooth frames. I must say of most 1st person shooters I have played this game is probably the best because of how fluid the gameplay is. However I must mention that probably the power of the hardware I used (PS5) might be the biggest contributor to an overall fantastic experience I had. In the past I was critical about this game because it took a futuristic approach as opposed to what I was used to traditionally from Call of duty games from the likes of Modern Warfare to Modern Warfare 3. The franchise has been known for simulating a real life war scenario immersing you into a war virtual experience.

With that said I found myself glued to the screen enjoying every moment of shootouts. In this game the protagonist is your own choice of either male or female and you choose from the provided variations. So two things defined this game for me incredible visuals and a fantastic fluid performance, it was basically flawless. There is one thing I might say I did not really fancy and that's the story. Its not bad but its unlike Call of duty its more of a Killzone or Crysis vibe, a different experience. In this game you are more like a cyborg and it also feels like you are playing Killzone or Crysis but definitely putting a stamp with that Call of duty gun feel.


Most games I play I normally omit the mentioning of the online experience focusing more on the single player experience you get since the single player experience is the one carrying the theme of the game. If you love online gameplay this is great provided you have good connectivity. There's also another thing I did not like about the multiplayer and that's the zombies. Here is the problem actually, I don't like the way the franchise seems to lose its essence and put zombies and in some cases put in futuristic warfare and I will tell you why, a video game must be distinct and maintain its identity though indeed there is nothing wrong in bringing new things to the fans which I assume Treyarch did here. If I know a game to be something and later on changes into something else by either adding stuff that are not initially related to its framework or subtracting I feel like it erodes its charter making it more like its competitors for example as I mentioned this Call of duty sometimes feels like Crysis or Killzone not in a bad way but because it incorporates what the other shooters do.


Overall what then is it a bad game? Definitely not, its really good, the additions of being a cyborg with unique perks for killing actually makes Black Ops 3 fun to play but I just want Call of duty to kind of maintain its roots so as to not be whitewashed in terms of what its all about. Its a really great game with the smoothest shooting feel you can get. Your thoughts are special please let me see them. Cheers.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page