top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Crysis


Crysis is a November 13 2007 release created by Crytek. I took a trip back about 13 to 14 years ago to experience this incredible shooter which at the time I believe came out with the great Call of duty Modernwarfare. Crytek always aimed to benchmark visuals and set a standard with Crysis games.

The edition I played is not the 2018 remaster but the original Crysis so not a lot to expect in terms of visuals but definitely an antique of those times. This is a first person shooter experience with more versatile gameplay towards combat. Unlike normal military shooters here you are powered by the nanosuit which gives you leverage when taking down enemies. For example you can become invisible, and play with a stealthy approach also you can go aggro with the maximum ammor mode which is my favorite and be in a position to take as many hits before your health can be affected. Weapon and character customizations are also available to keep up with tougher opponents.

What I liked about this game is how it aimed to depict a rich forest environment which veils both you and your enemies as you infiltrate shoot them down and in turn they tracking you down. I have played all 3 titles of this series excerpt for the remaster as mentioned and hopefully I will cover the others soon. With that said they managed to keep the gameplay and controls mostly similar and familiar across all three titles.

I firmly believe they did a great job for the time and I had a fun time taking down enemies which had a very challenging AI. To some extent its pretty unforgiving and at times I did die multiple times. The obvious struggle I had was I was playing the original code so I really had to take it up on a more powerful hardware to kind or smoothen the frames and fidelity for a overall good gameplay experience. I would recommend you play it on a capable PC or current gen consoles.

Its really a nice experience if you are a passionate gamer to go back in time and appreciate the fps gameplay mechanics of the time as it gives you a sense of what was then and how they have evolved. I am sure by now you have noticed I am a bit more lenient in terms of criticism about the visuals of very old games because it will mean I have to put them in accordance to todays standards so lets let retro be retro as its the foundation of today.


My expectations from this Series I will mention them when I do Crysis 3 for you guys for now please let me know your thoughts take care and enjoy.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page