top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Days Gone (on PS5)


This was never a genre I liked because perhaps It scares me but surprisingly this turned out to be one of my best games. I think this PS4 exclusive has in itself the full potential to be one of the Playstation juggernauts of exclusive titles. Playing it on PS5 just maxes it out and even more satisfactory.

The story is really good and brilliant its has a sense of purpose to play for. Its not too complicated and yet doesn't give all of itself to you to realize what's going on. Yes there is a pandemic going on and zombies and stuff but what caused it what happened to the government, your wife etc all of that breaks down slowly and purposefully.

From the start I could feel there was no room for disappointment as the game presented itself with exceptional visuals and the biggest standout for me was how fluid the gameplay was. You kind of get that RDR2 feel with this game and its more of a Last of us part 2 experience.

This is what I like with our beloved hobby, innovation. I cant help but drop little snippets of how fluid this game is:

You get that full satisfaction of playing in 3rd person view with a rich life like environment. Now I like the story and more so how it progresses I find it very unique. For example when you do certain quests you find that at times they disappear and then reemerge with their own percentages of progress. It more like each quest has its own progress tree which makes this a big game. Whichever way you wish to tackle the quests is all up to you. If you love big open worlds this will do you good.

The combat is clearly a big win for me because its not sophisticated yet fluid allowing you the opportunity to gracefully take down your opponents . The tempo is really wonderful as you can alternate your weapons during a fight.

That combined with beautiful graphics with always at most a locked frame rate this makes it exceptional and a delight to play. You can always adjust the difficulty if you like hard challenges but I recommend to first play it at the normal difficulty just to feel everything in a balanced way.

I also recommend that as you play the game always refuel regardless of how low your tank is because you wouldn't want to be caught by the horde. Trust me I have found the horde pretty difficult to survive against and I am sure the way I deal with them is poor because they really are creepy and scary. Basically its tones of zombies you have to at most times escape from or use the explosives laying in the environment to thin them out. Outside of that you cant swing your axe through them like Kratos nor try to Call of duty them🤣.

The character gear upgrade system is more of a grind and doesn't just give you plenty of skill points. I recommend that as you play the missions try to do it in a balanced approach and not just focus on the main story but do everything for a satisfying immersion and that too gives you more skill points which are pretty hard to come by.

Again while you upgrade your gear remember to build trust with the various camps you are affiliated with which is pivotal to your weapon and bike upgrades. This is where you basically have to do all missions. Clear infestations zones too for easy navigation within the world. Personally I don't like fast travelling I want to see the full extent of a game and not miss out.

For those who have never played it you basically getting a Read dead redemption 2( you can hunt and gather resources, skin animals too) vibe and Last of us part 2( the type of graphics and gameplay) experience I hope that takes away the skepticism if you wanted to try the game.

To say any game is perfect is misleading but its how hard it is to find faults during gameplay which is what happened to me. Clearly one of my best games and is superb in most ways I highly recommend you get it for yourself. A sequel yes though not sure which direction they may wish to take.


Lets hear your valuable opinion too. Cheers




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page