top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

e FOOTBALL 2023 is free indeed


Hello there dear reader trusting you doing good wherever you are. I just want to get to the point regarding this game with the first impressions I got. The intent here is not to trash a product but to just be honest.


This game was released on Aug 25 2022 and is an update from e football 2022 which used UE4. This particular update is using UE5 which made me more interested. I am guessing update means not a huge overhaul of textures, animations etc. but more of a club and national team roster update and gameplay tweaks of course. So GGS lets find out:


Graphics

Its good but I still think its not on FIFA level. I cant help but see that slight sub detail on "some" player faces more so on the clothing in comparison to FIFA. I believe the game will keep getting patches and probably look better as time goes on. The players do look very much presentable but FIFA takes it an extra notch higher. To be fair though this is a smaller studio than EA in this genre, EA has at most almost all the licenses within the sport and further access to robust player facial scans and details. Nonetheless don't be dismayed the graphics are still good but just not on the level with a wow factor for me. In FIFA you get things like pitch wear and tear, grass adjustments, ball types, tones of sweat :) etc. something you don't find here. So for me graphics still needs to improve.

Gameplay

I do not have to say much here but to just say it is the best football simulation. FIFA has a lot of catching up to do. But its no surprise as over the years when e football was still PES it was known for good gameplay and graphics but at the expense of licenses. FIFA managed to sort-out their graphics (especially when FIFA 2009 PS3 & Xbox One was released) but the gameplay I don't not enjoy it by any means. One of the problems I have with FIFA is the lack of freedom, I don't feel like I can get hold of a player and enjoy their abilities on the pitch but its more of fast paced find the space and release the ball whereas with PES if you have e.g Messi you get to enjoy the moment with him. So if you are into true football savvy and savor every moment of "foot to ball touch" then this is the right place. I need not to say much but you can checkout my recent streams by clicking on the twitch icon in our blog menu or alternatively here https://www.twitch.tv/videos/1579792623


Story

While not the focal point of many sports games I was very much disappointed. For many years I used to buy FIFA and PES until 2015, my football appetite just ran out. Back then PES (now E football) had a proper manager mode setup just like they had in the recent e football 2020 rendition and proper league and tournament structures and all that this year so far is not there. I really dislike the build your own team type of thing with little microtransactions flying all over the place, unknown animation players... really irritates me and I am aware FIFA has a similar setup with FUT. With this said I am glad the game is free indeed, its not worth monetary value at the moment as minimum effort was placed into tournament modes, fixtures etc. I spent my time fumbling around the menu with hope that I may find an interesting mode as per tradition which for me is being a football manager of an authentic team and found none.

I would say though the game is good at gameplay the rest is disappointing. They have managed to keep the tradition, the DNA of PES which is the gameplay but at a huge expense of other modes that perfect the game. Much needs to be done for e Football to return to its former glory, the potential is there but I feel not much effort is being put into making it one of the one stop places to enjoy the sport. For me for now I would say its a game you will enjoy a lot doing one of one's (pvp) online with friends. That's it for now, cheers.


Pros

good gameplay


Cons

poor menu setup

lack of tournament modes

no proper manager mode


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page