top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Gears 5

Updated: Jan 6, 2021


Alright guys its been a long intense journey for the series and this is the climax so far. This is the prettiest Xbox exclusive game that comes to mind and I can safely say I find it incomplete to own an Xbox or even a good gaming PC without this game. It really puts Microsoft machines in the spotlight. The entire Gears of War series is the definition of what Microsoft game studios can do. If you want to see the power your PC or Xbox has this is a good way to find out.

Now firstly they didn't drop the ball on the story, they picked up from where they left of from which was Gears of War 4. The graphics are polished to perfection and obviously its the best looking Gears game. We need to bear in mind that this is the only gears game with the not "of War" include in its title (apart from Gears judgement) I am guessing this has something to determine or to do with the story of the games.

The gameplay is really great and I just want to share with you a couple of moments I really enjoyed at the early stages of the game:

The gameplay is a massive improvement making life easier for the most part especially with Jacks abilities being introduced into the game as part of your buddies Jack plays an essential decisive role per hot gunfire combat encounter. Essential abilities such as the cloak really help in executing enemies in stealth which is something new to the series. Gears 5 is very fluid combining both the graphics and gameplay physics and it appears best when you aim for premium consoles and graphic cards.

The only drawback I had with the game was its story. It's not bad but the internal friendship divisions between Kate, Dell and JD I didn't like them because I have known Gears to be a team family soldier roller costs ride but in this case there's divisions up to the point where you have to choose either Dell or JD which was the most awful part of the game for me.

Both Dell and JD are essential to the game and without wanting to spoil this for you I don't think the choice between them was necessary at all which makes me wonder the setup of the next Gears game. I thought they would make Dell the future Cole and obviously JD filling his fathers shoes with Kate being more like Anya maybe.

Lastly regarding the story I did not like what happened to Cole and this is where my grievance is. I understand not all characters are always there but I feel like consistent elimination of characters kills the entire framework of the game. There may be reasons behind which we don't know but there are critical characters which as a gamer you would have bonded with.

Overall that's the issue I have with this game I really didn't like the story not bad but It definitely needed a better approach. I also think Gears 5 and Gears of war 4 are very short campaigns compared to the rest I could be wrong but judging from my experience with them they seemed short for me. I definitely need a sequel but I am biting my nails as to who will be there to probably conclude the series, I feel like Gears can have a long way to go provided they keep the characters which determine the game and story.

We bond with a game due to the characters of its story. For more content please follow my gamertag Bevan naveb 1,please support and take care and stay safe.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page