top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Gears of War Ultimate edition

Updated: Dec 13, 2020


This is where it all began guys I have so much respect for this game as its my favorite 3person shooter.

Its such a nice experience to go retro especially when the retro days have been enhanced. Clearly the developers here did an awesome job to relive the first Gears of war game and to me the game that defined and put Xbox in a strong position, I know Halo fans wouldn't fully agree.

I really enjoyed playing this apart from it being enhanced for One X and S you could get to feel the grind and shooting that this game brought to the plate. Once again for me this is the best 3rd person shooter for me as an Xbox exclusive. I firmly believe Gears of war is the real pioneer of grit grind none stop shooting action.

The beauty about playing this first game is you get to understand what Gears is all about, various characters are introduced to you and even as you play the later titles such as Gears of War 4 and Gears 5 by then you know know who is who and why.

The gameplay mechanics are great, simple and classic. The usual cover shooting, classic lancer and all the other incredible weapons feel and shoot great.


This game in particular has this dark gloomy environment and has this mystery about it regarding the locusts and the entire plot. Game length is absolutely reasonable unfortunately I don't time how fast I finish a game as I prefer to gracefully play and explore the game to the fullest but however with my 22 years of gaming experience I can pretty much tell when a game is long or short.

I do have just one complaint about the game. The AI has some bugs because there are times where you either shooting alone and your squad is mysteriously unavailable or your AI mate just runs straight into the bullets. However this is not a train smash for a beautiful classic as we should remember that this game was FIRST released in 2006 and then this edition in particular was based on that old framework and of course the work was aimed towards enhancing an old title. I believe it would be pretty unreasonable as well to expect visuals and gameplay to match recent game titles we have.


Overall this is a great experience and a fantastic way to go back to the beginning of an amazing series. I have nothing to expect from this title as it already has sequels. Please let me know your valuable thoughts through comments and your much needed subscription support.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page