top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

God of War on PS5

Updated: Oct 19, 2021


First of all happy new year its 2021 now we hoping things get better globally. Now guys I am going to lay out my thoughts to what I think to be the best Playstation exclusive ever made. I ran this game on next gen (PS5) and it looked stunning. Bearing in mind that I also played this when it wasn't yet optimized for the PS5 and as far as I know to date it still is not. Perhaps the devs will give us a patch just before Ragnarok for us to replay the game with some next gen aspects I don't know.

Firstly I need to clarify something I saw that was never addressed thoroughly: can PS5 do Supersampling if you don't have a 4k tv? The answer is:

Yes. Normally when people review games these days they are under the assumption that everyone has the right premium TV, console and graphic card for PC etc so minimum attention is paid to some of these questions. So I decided to first run it on my old 1080p 60fps TV and it delivered beyond my expectations. Unfortunately I don't have the tools to prove the differences at the moment.

I prefer to play none competitive single player games in resolution mode as opposed to performance mode because I am not competing I am alone taking my time milking the moment but when It comes to multiplayer its definitely best to tune up to performance for obvious reasons. But whichever way you choose is great still.

By now you might be wondering why I have not said much about GOW yet. I am going to do something strange, I actually don't have much to say. It humbles me to even comment on this great game. I have played all GOW games from the first one to PSP versions remasters and all but this one was the climax for me. Its the best direction in a series that Cory Barlog and his team took . I really like the gear loot system, its very purposeful but its key to pay close attention to the perks of each peace of gear and enhancement as it will influence your playstyle.

Whenever Cory does a GOW game I am always under high expectation because he did one of my all time greats GOW 2. He always finds a cohesion between Story gameplay and graphics. Playing GOW 2 on Playstation 2 at that time was premium. When something was beautifully crafted sometimes let the crafting speak for itself .

The best reason to own a Playstation is definitely this game, graphics combat environment and lore are exceptional. Clearly It was the best game of 2018 and Is the most anticipated title of 2021(as GOW Ragnarok.

Once again I wont say much because I want you to play it and as much as you cant own an Xbox without a gears of war game the same applies to this title, it is Sony's heartbeat and of course my best Sony exclusive.

We look forward to the sequel of this great game with high expectations. I think the gameplay was fine It doesn't need anything more, the camera was great just about everything leaves me with nothing to say excerpt to say please don't disappoint us from this Santa Monica.

Cheers and welcome to 2021 BOY.


the below is an edited addition on 10/19/21 indicative of the Feb 2021 PS5's 60fps patch






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page