top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Gotham Knights not as bad...


Released: October 2022

Platform: SX/S PC & PS5

Developer: Warner Bros


Keeping this simple and brief lets GGS:

Graphics

Powered by UE4 the visuals seem very good that is with the excerption of bad framerate drops. I find no problem with how it looks on PC but the only issue the game has is the framerate that is what I think added more disappointment to this Batman universe successor. You do get to see those frame drops randomly and I saw them most often during or just after a cutscene. So good graphics with bad framerate. While on this point it is important to say it is not on the level of the beautiful Arkham knight city scape reflections and crowd density (checkout our TikTok and YouTube videos on this).


Gameplay

Honestly this is the part I love about the game and have a friend who got the game upon release and he told me its very nice and fun. I was of course very sceptical mainly due to the reaction towards the game. So I hesitated but still watched some streamers and kept on wanting to play the game for myself because it was appealing to me in this segment. So very good interesting gameplay and I think I like it better than Arkham games though it does not have good counter moves as the Arkham Games but its nice and slow and I can see my characters moves clearly.


Story

At this point in time I have not completed the game as I have too much on the plate, you know how life can be but at the same time I want to stretch my experience and not rush play the game but take time to really see what's happening here. So I wont make early conclusions in my context however the tangent of the story doesn't seem as captivating as the Arkham games. At this point in time it seems and feels like its trying so hard to replace the Kevin Conroy Batman games but just falling short. I think and I presume this is the biggest let down for this game.


I have played most of the Batman Arkham games and completed them excerpt for Origins but I can tell you the theme and story atmosphere from those games was very rich dark and engaging a thing I cannot even get from this game even though I haven't completed it. I don't believe at all in rush play because you don't bond with a game at all you do thrive in getting reviewer clicks but personally you can easily have very skewed opinions about a game.


To conclude Gotham Knights is not as bad as people made it to be but definitely not as good as it ought to have been. Its a game with very interesting gameplay and graphics too but clearly failed to succeed the Arkham trilogy in a convincing way.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page