top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Grand Theft Auto V


One of the best open world games you can ever play is this. To me its more of a timeless game and for many years to come it will still be an antique to me and in the hearts of Rockstar games fans. Released in 2013 as a cross gen title published by Rockstar games GTAV scooped a lot of awards and became one of the best if not the all time best selling game at the time with multiple awards and record breaking sales.

I played this game initially when it was released and I remember I rushed to the store paid a hefty amount as it was a release title and my high anticipation for the game was satisfied beyond measure. What's Incredible for me is how Rockstar brought to life the game world of this game. Indeed over the years they have always focused on open world games but this particular game was designed with such precision as to how for example the traffic reacts. Cars stop when traffic lights go red, drivers hoot and argue, you can take a cab, the NPCs are intelligent enough to wait for someone to cross the road before they drive over them and much more I haven't said. Indeed some of these aspects may have been in other GTA games prior but this time it was beautifully implemented to work together cohesively and in sync.

What makes this game legendary to me is the story cohesion with the gameplay. The world events are captured on the local game radio for example you commit a crime or shootout as you are driving your car the event is reported. There is also a tone of things you can do within the game but the best part for me is the story. It was the first game and perhaps the only game I have ever seen where you control 3 characters each with their separate lives yet fusing together to contribute to an overall story. You can also at anytime switch between the characters have them meet for a chillout, heist and so on.

Grand theft Auto V is a good example of hard work with gamers in mind. It did stuff we didn't expect. The missions are crazy fun, the 3 characters meet in a unique way, everything had purpose. I really wish video game stories would follow such a blueprint to avoid being depressing but rather keeping the fun, captivation and not just eliminating characters.

Another incredible aspect is the attention to detail which is something very rare in more games. They took every effort to emulate real life. You can even see in the example above how your barber cuts your hair. Also your characters sweats on their clothes. I can mention a lot of things but my invitation to you who haven't tried this game out is go for it.

I would safely say this GTAV is in a league of its own with little to no competition in how its engineerd. I did not come accross frustrating glitches and a general disconnected world but rather a rock solid universe which has a life of its own. We are all waiting for GTA 6 or whatever it may be called and judging from this we crossing fingers for another blast. I would safely say this is the best open world adventure considering the time it was made and what it still does for us 3 generations later. Phenomenal, let me know cheers.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page