top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Mafia Definitive Edition


Release: September 2020

Developer: Hangar 13

Platform: PS4,XBOX ONE,PC


Before we go into my personal brief account I need to make mention that this game is a remake of the original 2002 release by 2k. With that out of the way here's my thoughts on this legendary masterpiece:


Graphics

The original already looked great in its time but this remake just brings it back essentially to current gen terms in my opinion. It may be a last gen game for consoles but it matches the visual modern demands and standards of 2023. The characters are rich in detail, the cars and city layout perfectly capture the era of the 20's and 30's. You could say the game is faultless. There is some 2k involvement here which is notorious for its detailed NBA games so you are guaranteed a visual feast.

So I played this on PS5 and I am pretty sure on PC you can scale it since on console you cannot regardless of having a PS5 or SX due to the back compat nature of things. So yeah I was locked at 30fps without any significant graphical options to meddle with but surprisingly you wont really feel the curse of the 30fps as there is a perfect harmony between visuals and performance. I cannot prove further this because even when we see the performance metrics everything eventually gets filtered by your own eyes and perception you derive from while directly playing the game yourself. Overall there's not anything I can deduct apart from the current gen consoles being held back by the performance cap, the game is superb visually.



Gameplay

Combined with well crafted visuals you are embraced by an even fun thrilling gameplay. Each mission is packed with action as it follows the well articulated narrative which we shall briefly touch on. In my opinion to counter the low framerate I would recommend choosing and adjusting your aim assist options because at 30fps it may feel annoying to have to target your enemy and shoot them but that's just for you to decide.

Gameplay is brilliant and very much like Read Dead Redemption 2. I also like the way the environment responds to say when you bump a car or when you are hiding behind cover the walls and objects actually disintegrate as the shooting happens which is really cool attention to detail. I've not much to say in literature but praises and encouragement for you if have not played the game yet to not miss out.


Story

Its a perfect amalgamation of graphics gameplay and story which is just befitting for one to conclude how legendary this title is. The story is well put together with purpose and not riddled by irrelevant side missions. Again as you know me if you read I don't like to give details further as it would just spoil things for you. Secrecy, loyalty, surprises and betrayal are some of the story elements you are to encounter.


Mafia Definitive Edition is easily one of the best games I have ever played and one not to miss out on.


Pros

Great visuals, gameplay and Story


Cons

30fps on console

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page