top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Mirror's Edge Catalyst


I have always underestimated this game and took my time over the years to get it as I do not really like first person games but this took me by surprise. Mirrors edge presents itself with a very unique world and approach to gaming. It left me with that impression of Cyberpunks older sibling but in a subtle way as the two are quiet different genre wise. Easy to play and great visuals is something you get from the get go.

Straight away what caught my attention when I decided to give it a go was the fantastic visuals. Character model detail is highly impressive. It has this solid frame rate feel to it perhaps it is largely so due to its world environment which doesn't have much activity going on. I don't recall experiencing any jittering, jagged ages or stutter during gameplay although its entirely dependent on the hardware in use and probable GPU and CPU stress situations.

The most excellent thing for me was the combat. Its really fluid, fun and makes you feel you are in total control. I must say from a first person view the gameplay is superb. I like how the camera reacts for example when you kick or punch there is no awkwardness but rather makes you feel like its you doing the moves. It plays with this martial arts combo movement mixed with great parkour and combining the moves into fun takedowns.

The animation response is also great. The pace at which you engage yourself with enemy waves is really well calculated. I hardly felt overwhelmed plus I could enjoy the tempo during the fights seeing and feeling each move and strike giving me a sense of satisfaction and combat fluidity.

I would have preferred this game to be more of an RPG with a variety of critical choices. It carried so much potential within itself with great visuals and frames to actually express itself in a huge RPG open world setting. One thing though that I would also want and this goes to most games as well is camera choice to either play as first person or third shouldn't be a problem. RDR2 nailed it in this regard as you can play the game at a variety of camera angle's.


Overall its a beautiful experience you will get in this game surely one to consider for your library. Cheers

20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


aasifaboobaker7
aasifaboobaker7
Mar 05, 2021

Really enjoyed this game! Pitty I never got around to completing it

Like
Bevan
Bevan
Mar 05, 2021
Replying to

Its a really great experience perhaps you will revisit it and complete😊

Like
bottom of page