top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

PlayStationPC worst mistake


So basically I want to start off by thanking IFA graphics for all the support for making things happen and the few readers too. I wanted to just discuss with you guys over a topic that I think is not being taken seriously for what it is. There has been a growing emphasis from PlayStation to actually start to feature its console exclusive titles to PC. I will tell you my thoughts on this in a moment but I just want to highlight some of their reasons together with the people in support of this.


Now they say we want to attract the PC audience to PlayStation, to be more inclusive and the people in support of this are saying its actually good to have PlayStation games on PC its profitable and will boost the Sony studios game development financially (they are PC gamers of course masquerading as PS fans in my opinion). I am just like hold on dude do you get paid by Sony? Have you seen their financials in person and know they are really struggling? They say we want to provoke them to come and buy a PlayStation. They say we wont release our exclusives to PC and later on said perhaps after 3years of a titles release then we share with PC players. PC players are not even desperate there's plenty there. You can checkout Sony Ceo Jim Ryan's comments on the link below:



Also checkout the comments from Sony Head of studios:


PSB: [How does] PC fit into the worldview of PlayStation Studios moving forward?

Hermen: We’re still early on in our planning for PC. And Horizon Zero Dawn has been very successful. I think it shows there’s an appetite from gamers outside the PlayStation ecosystem to experience the amazing portfolio of games that PlayStation fans have enjoyed for years.

But I want to emphasize that PlayStation will remain the best place to play our PlayStation Studios titles at launch. But we do value PC gamers, and we’ll continue to look at the right times to launch each game. Bend Studio just released the PC version of Days Gone on May 18. So that’s about two years after the PS4 release.

And I hope that a new set of fans can and will enjoy that title. And that’s the goal — we want to reach new gamers who haven’t yet experienced the great stories, characters, and worlds that we’ve built. Releasing games on PC will not come ever at the expense of building an exciting lineup of great console games.




To me that's just corporate excuses to calm their audience more of a pat on the back. Money is the whole reason behind this. Lets get something straight consoles are essentially custom built PCs. I have never been behind the scenes in person to witness game development but from the videos I have scene everything is tailored on a PC.


Lets get to what I think about all this, why were consoles made in the first place is the first question one should ask themselves. There's no point right in starting a business that is not profitable that's just the obvious notion of making money. Now here's the thing, Microsoft to me is PC and I believe they decided to enter the console race with the Xbox console in the early 2000s. I have seen some people say oh no Microsoft is not PC I clearly don't get that. So lets get this straight, a high end PC is the best place to play a game with all settings maxed out there's just no argument about this.


So my question to you the reader is would you like to play your favorite PlayStation exclusive at console level settings or the sheer raw power of a gaming PC? Lets use a more of a pipe dream example: God of war Ragnarok at 4k 60fps dynamic res on PS5 vs say on RTX 3090 4k native with DLSS at 165fps with full raytracing enabled. What would be your choice? It will obviously look better on PC. Check Horizon zero dawn on PC in 8k I think it looks better than console:



So lets wrap this up without making this any longer, it is a bad idea for their console making. I think PlayStation is trying to follow Microsoft's monopolistic approach. For me I agree with Steve Jobs when he said Microsoft has no character. You can see the below link pertaining to this:




They just everywhere to be honest. Sony PlayStation had a focus in gaming and no wonder great titles came out of that. The reason to buy a PlayStation is slowly becoming irrelevant. Having a console would be for a more of a mid range experience. On PC I can play Xbox, PC and now increasingly PlayStation titles.


Bad idea. Your thoughts

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


bottom of page