top of page

Why PC gaming is sad


So I just want to rant but before i do I am going to embed a few videos from channels I follow that i think if you have never heard of and if you are interested you can follow. By the way happy new year. I mainly follow Jayz Two Cents, Gamer Nexus and Digital Foundry. So before anybody misunderstands and thinks I am launching a smear campaign this has nothing to do with it. They will be just reference points for you to watch and draw your own conclusions from. So I want to give you my own conclusions of what I think is happening to PC gaming industry (not these videos) and I will mainly focus on Ngreedia (Nvidia) because I use a Ngreedia gpu but you can always stretch it to AMD.

First off gpu pricing is not uniform world over so I will speak for my country South Africa. For example RTX 4070 is dropping from launch $599 to $549. In my country $599 is R11 156. Now of course this is subject to global politics and other contributing factors but the differences become abysmal because when the gpu is actually sold the price is higher here and i am going to show you an example from a shop i love to buy from here:


R14 999 is $805. We can already see a problem here. The problem is not the shop but that's how it is all over the country and even worse with some online retailers like Take alot. Ok back to the original reason for this post. There is too many gpus out there and the greedy TSMC machine has lost its head. Lets just take the RTX4070 series as an example. Already Ngreedia claims the 40 series variant RTX 4070 SUPER will be faster than a RTX3090 which someone sold a kidney for just roughly two years ago. Guys what's the point of keeping up with gpus if you spend a lot? I think in my country the last time i saw a RTX3090 it was over R30 000 alone not prebuilt, then it significantly dropped and the last i saw was R 16 999 but its long disappeared now. I cant remember the exact figure but it is out of stock.

Here is the elephant in the room: is PC game optimization going to improve or only get worse as the dev's race to have their games run well on fresh gpus and neglect the older gpus because Ngreedia needs to make sales. I still have a head on my shoulders and i think the pc hardware space is ludacris. RTX4080 is going to be discontinued, 4070ti super will have 16gb a thing they should have long done adding more vram to the 70 series cards. Here's the weird part RTX 3070 had everything right excerpt the vram. RTX4070 had stripped mem bandwidth but more vram and frame gen. Then 4070ti super is a combination of 3070 and 4070 but with more vram and frame gen.

If you look at Ngreedia comparisons they always factor in frame gen because they know RTX2000 series and RTX3000 series owners are too stubborn to move so we dangle the carrot of what they don't have which is frame gen. Core counts are largely the same between 3070 and 4070 and other intricate stuff I would not want to bore you with. So here is what i think: Ngreedia together with some video game companies actually work together to force you to buy their cards by having the games not run well without frame gen so that you have no choice but to hope along. This trillion dollar company already has it slaves and can easily sabotage the hobby so that you upgrade as and when they push a new product.


I also think that console gaming is better in terms of optimization because it sometimes takes 5 or 7 years for new console hardware (PS2 2000 TO 2006,PS3 2006 to 2013, PS4 2013 to now but certain pieces of hardware like controllers stopped production) so to optimize for this hardware is easier than optimizing for say: RTX 4070,RTX4070ti,RTX3070,RTX4070TI Super RTX4080,RTX4080 SUPER to just name a few. Most PC games don't ruin well upon release we have seen it and we know it even though PC hardware is better.

To cut the long story short I am worn out with too many gpus out there as well as game optimizations remaining trash for the most part. Prices are ridiculous, poor decisions have been made like the RTX4060 which falls short of the 3060ti in some testings conducted and some would say its worse than the 3060, ive seen some tests its true. And the wired RTX 4060 16gb which is just useless.


Sigh I don't know what you think I have much to say but will end here, feel free to use the above channels to watch and have much better insight to what's going on. We wait for the gpu tests as well but sigh!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page