top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

What is your game of the year?


I just want to share my thoughts with you on what I think is the game of the year based strictly on what I have played. If you think otherwise its fine its a free world but here are my primary motivational factors for game of the year: Best Story, Best graphics, Best gameplay, ggs as you know.

Game of the Year: Marvels Spider-Man 2 is definitely the GOTY this year. Firstly the gameplay. Nothing I've played this year kept me engaged, its not anything new but something we are familiar with encapsulated with gameplay enhancement steroids. They took a gameplay feel we knew and loved and did not drop the ball but rather made it better. Everything runs smooth, fun, thrilling and together with those crazy boss fights again nothing satisfied me than this. The gameplay turned out to be a fruitful endeavour because its amalgamated with an engaging story with various twists and definitely separate from approach taken by the movies we have known.

Yes some aspects are obvious like the symbiote suit, who Peter is, Miles etc and it all comes from comics and movies but its the direction in which the writers of this game chose to tell the tale which is captivating. Lastly graphics again kept itself very identical to the previous two iterations, but definitely a step-up all things considered like Raytracing and the building interiors which was a really cool 3d surprise like you can look within the building windows and get a sense of what's inside. But again the graphics are not wildly different from what we already know but just the same with additional. So in a nutshell the gameplay is the ultimate reason (combined with the story) why I chose this game as GOTY.


Best Story: Starfield

Starfield

I think this game received heavy criticism unnecessarily. Its a game that needs time and when given time you actually get surprised at how good it is. I chose it as best story because as we know Bethesda games are rich in multiple decisions which of course is why they in my opinion are the kings of an RPG experience. There is a tone of value in games like this and when repeated it stays new because you can play it differently and its not a one time play. Most good games turn out to be a one time play more like you have bought a good movie and that's it when its done.


Starfield storyline is very deep especially considering the long side quests with multiple consequences and outcomes each affecting each other in ways you will never know. The gameplay Is not bad but I think the problem is that on consoles as yet you are stuck with 30fps. I think Bethesda should have gone for a 60fps experience at least for Series X I mean with PCs if your hardware is weak you cant hold off someone with premium hardware. I feel like the Microsoft parity clauses played a part here (check our twitter timeline), There is no way the Series X isn't capable of a higher fps even if it means running the game at a base of 1440p or lower just to refine an already cool gameplay. I love the gameplay because they took the RDR2 approach of having multiple cameras like you can play in first person and third person at different camera angels. It feels truly like an underrated game in my opinion.


Best Gameplay: Hogwarts Legacy

Is one game that when I repeat even for years to come I will have a good time with repetition. Those spells and techniques of taking out your enemies are just amazing. I know I did mention Spider-Man 2 gameplay was amazing but I feel Hogwarts is special in this department you don't just mash buttons you think on what to use. The AI doesn't always make predictable moves they make you think. I really don't care about the politics that surround this game I grew up a fan of this and am not going to go with the modern mob psychology of how gamer politicians view the world. I have nothing at all against J.K Rowling's views that's how she views the world so what?? Had it not been for her books we would not even be talking about this game nor the movies nor the now successful actors. She made this game and them whether they agree or not. To save time and not digress this one steals the show in this department.


Those are my three best games this year however there are still some I have to play like Star Wars: Jedi Survivor which I think had I played it it would definitely be the best in the graphics department. I don't have a best game this year in terms of graphics because I don't really see a visual leap with most this year but there are exceptional looking games though. I would have also picked Alan Wake 2 but I really dislike its optimisation for mid to high end gpus on PC. Mid gpus on PC are far ahead of console gpus so why the trouble? It also seems unnecessarily heavy to process considering its not even a vast world. I did play the game by the way its just that I do not fancy the genre but probably between Alan Wake 2 and Star Wars:Jedi Survivor is the best game in terms of graphics.


Well that's it from me.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page