top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Reminiscing Tomb Raider Legend on Series X


Release: April 2006

Developer: Crystal Dynamics

Platform: PS3,Xbox 360,PC

Genre: Action adventure

I normally do the GGS (Graphics, gameplay & Story short analysis) but in this case its not imperative but rather I just want to go back in time and briefly chat about this title as I have so many memories tied to this. I did not play this upon release but rather 3 years later but I do remember how at the time it was quite the talk of the town in my local school. At the time this game came out I only had Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness which I still hold very high regard to even now but not to digress by much my dad got me a gaming PC in 2010 which I had in it a Radeon HD which was if I remember correctly was around the 6000 series or so.

You will find out why I am kind of bringing my personal background towards this game because in 2011 I bought the compilation of Tomb Raider games that included this one Anniversary and Underworld all on PS3 (Tomb Raider trilogy).

Ok we begin here I realized one thing about this game in particular and that is its only and only best played and even today on a PC. It looked horrible on console after first playing it on PC and I think it still does. On PC its worlds apart from console in every respect. Its sad to mention that even if you run it on a Series X the SX will only emulate the Xbox 360 which at the time was the better console version but in any case its still terrible compared to PC regardless of the SX being more than capable for the game.


The intent here is not to send wrong signals calling this masterpiece bad but its one good example that shows how that games and the entire experience on PC can be very far from console. Another good example again would be FIFA 2010 which I had at the time it looked amazing on PC and horrid on console.


With that said I just want to say its truly a legendary experience you get here even if you choose to go replay it but I dont recommend but rather emplore that your play this only on PC. It a great game and a classical antique but best on PC. In any case I am playing it on my SX and it does run great just with the very much visible 360 DNA in emulation.


Well that's it from me but I thought to share some of the great games from the early 2000s which is worth checking out and before I go I just want to mention that this was the best version of Lara for me and even the gameplay and action according to me is more fun than modern Tomb Raider games. But this i leave to your gaming palate.


cheers


pros

great story

fun gameplay


cons

best played only on PC hardware

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page