top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Shadow of the Tomb Raider

Updated: Jan 7, 2021


Ok when it comes to this game I want to say impressive. This is the Tomb Raider I have been waiting for. Most things from Rise were rectified here.

Firstly the Tombs are rich, long dark and mysterious building your curiosity to explore.

The gameplay as well was improved compared to its predecessor with added stuff such as putting mud all over your body to remain hidden, stealth attack from trees and a lot more.

The environmental graphics are fantastic with rich green foliage making you blend in more for stealth kills. The environment also gives you more options to take down your enemies.



Character model brief comparison:

Shadow of the Tomb Raider cutscene

As for the character model I took a lot of time comparing Lara in this game and Rise. Its a pretty tough comparison but this is my overall conclusion: Lara in Shadow of the Tomb Raider has more lifelike and better expressions BUT there is a downgrade for me. Firstly the hair texture in Rise seems better than Shadow. The facial skin texture to some degree seems more defined in Rise than Shadow.

Rise of the Tomb Raider in game cutscene


Rise of the Tomb Raider in game picture

Shadow of the Tomb Raider in game picture

While we have to still be aware that its dependent on console type, tv type and also capture resolution type its still very subtle differences but try to play both and you will see. I wouldn't say she looks better than in Rise but yeah they gave her some muscle which is cool (badass tough woman). There is just a very subtle downgrade when it comes to definition for me on the character model but yes she looks great overall in both games.

Now the story wasn't really good for me neither terrible. The main villain was weak for my liking. I think Square enix needs to improve on the story of the series. Its not that really compelling.

They could make the villains more aggressive and worthwhile which reminds me of a Tomb Raider that was widely criticized but for me the villains and story was great and that was Angel of darkness. That was a rich mythical story something that they could bring back.

Above all its a great game to have with addictive gameplay to my opinion. Let me know your thoughts feel free to express your views of course be nice and constructive and please fill in the subscription for your much needed support. Your views are what this is all about.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page