top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Skyrim Special Edition


I took a trip back to this famous now 10 year old (technically 9 and a few months at the time of this writing) Bethesda release to get to experience what I had missed back then. Countless times my friends implored me to play this game but as usual I did not feel compelled due to its 1st person View. Skyrim V is a game released on 11 November 2011 for both console and PC which received a considerable amount of accolades and yes it is a single player action role playing game.

A lot has taken place since this game was released with it getting a special edition release and various types of modding as part and parcel of the games patches though one should note that some modds (basically game enhancements) are not substantially official ( i.e part of the games original code or approved download patch code) and might negatively affect your overall experience.


We need to bear in mind this was a Playstation 3 and Xbox 360 era release game and to compare it to todays standards would not be ideal. However as usual I want to take you through my own personal experience with the game. My first impressions of this game pushed away my already negative expectations regarding the game. Immediately I loved the story driven nature of the game.

Skyrim presents itself as an enormous game that is founded on a deeply immersive storyline, one that takes a long time to put together and let alone complete. I must make mention also that this particular game I did not finish it due to it being very big. Straightaway I applied some of the mods to try get a better experience of the game from the get go and what kept me going mostly was the story. There was a lot to unfold itself to me as I met some NPCs that are critical to the storyline. I loved how engaging, rich and informative each response is within the dialogue as you communicate with the NPCs.

The graphics are polished although not the standard of this current gen but its fair to say it is one of the best RPG games in the industry. I love how its keeps you intrigued with the lore .It builds an unending curiosity mixed with a vast open world filled with various unknown dangers. I also got the sense of how every element (friend or foe) within the world has a valid contribution to how they impact the direction and feel of your story. The strong point for me is the vast array of choices, this game has no right or wrong you approach it the way you want.


I usually don't like to rate games on scales of 1 to 10 or five stars (though honestly its the most accurate way to lay out an opinion) because experience is basically subjective and I Just prefer to discuss the pros and cons but some of my friends insisted that I give my rating, so well I would give this an 8 out of 10. My reasons are:

Pros:

1) Brilliant storyline (in my case promising as I haven't yet completed it)

2) Huge open world

3) The best RPG elements far above most games

4) fair enough gameplay mechanics


Cons:

1) 1st person view camera only

2) glitches


I am looking forward to more future sequels for this game but I think Bethesda needs to work more on the character models and camera. I did play future games of this series like Elder Scrolls Tamriel which I hope to cover soon. Overall if you want to experience a true RPG game this is the grandmaster classic of it and of course I recommend you give it a go. Let me know your thoughts, cheers and stay safe.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page