top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

The Division


So this is an online role playing action game developed by Massive Entertainment and published by Ubisoft in 2016. If I remember correctly there were delays to this game because it was shown at E3 2014 and the famous author Tom Clancy had passed away in 2013, used to to be the writer behind Splinter Cell games and a variety of other military espionage stories. So a couple of things may have changed in the background before this game got released. The initial plans from what I recall were that it wasn't supposed to be an online based game plus the graphics got toned down from the initial E3 2014 game play showcase. At least that's what I vividly remember without thorough research.

Now to the point I liked this game because first it has a brilliant story, more like a reflection of what we are currently experiencing globally at the moment. You can not only just understand the story but it has depth and purpose carrying a dark realistic side within itself.

Regardless of platform you get an overall uniform experience unless and depending on which premium hardware you may choose, I felt I could get steady frames on the latest consoles as opposed to last gen. Nonetheless its no big loss for this title as it was initially designed for last gen hardware. It is a brilliant game with a substantially large New York world area under siege due to rogues and the virus pandemic.

I enjoyed the enemy encounters which were really challenging and please bear in mind you need a real good internet connection for a fluid experience without hiccups like late in game response. So as much as the hardware plays a role your internet connection has an even critical part to play so as to escape frustration.

The downside I have about the game is that it seems to lack a balance between normal difficulty and hard. Enemy encounters at times become really difficult when you are alone especially as you can easily die. Indeed a challenge is required but when that balance goes missing it affects gameplay at least for me.

I played the Division 2 about a year ago and will hopefully take you through my experience with it as its a sequel to this, but I can say the Division 2 is a big step up. I really love The Division games as they have this group multiplayer effort and fairly huge areas to explore the way you choose fit. Having these games to be online only kind of limits the game series reaching an even far bigger audience but still its nature its very nice. My wish is for the series to grow from besieged New York to other new environments. I am not sure what to expect from a next gen Division but I wouldn't mind having it if possible.


Please let me know your thoughts. Cheers.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page