top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Tomb Raider Legend: A game best played on PC


Release: April 2006

Developer: Crystal Dynamics

Platform: PS3,XBOX 360,PC


Graphics

We haven't received a remaster so the graphics are definitely from the PS3 and 360 era with the excerption of PC. I just want to say I played this on Series X via back compat and it doesn't look good at all mainly because the Series X is emulating the Xbox 360. I initially played this game on my mid range PC of 2010 13 years ago and even though I don't have that PC now the game looked better than the experience I am having on the Series X. In 2010 I played the same game on my PS3 and it even looked terrible because it ran slightly better on the 360 architecture than the PS3. The game and character are blurry that's the problem especially if you have played it on PC first. That's the sad thing about console gaming the lack of freedom to edit those video game settings to make the presentation better. So all the power of the Series X wont apply here which is a shame.


Gameplay

Everything remains the same of course on Series X and need to mention that games back then were simple nothing sophisticated and it kept its classic Tomb Raider puzzled based exploration mixed with action. It is a game that is still playable and fun.


Story

This game really shined due to multiple locations it has which added depth to the story. I finished this game over 10 times on PC and the story still sticks with me till today.


Its a game worth revisiting but on PC hardware and it still should be remembered as a great classic. My deepest plight is that console hardware be free from emulating old console code because unless a game is remastered you are stuck in 2006 with a 2020 console hardware. The Xbox back compat and Xbox boost initiative was good since you could at least apply HDR and boost the fps on the Series X for old titles but with rumored and reported licensing issues it seems it just got abandoned. I cannot speak for the PS5 because the back compat at Sony though its there its not as broad as on Xbox so I cannot report playstation findings as I only revisited this game on Xbox.


Cheers


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page