top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Uncharted 4: A Thief's End

Updated: Jan 15, 2021


I hold so much positive emotional memories with this particular franchise. I just want to briefly share with you a personal story first before I touch on this game. I played Uncharted 2 first after my initial PS3 was stolen from me on a bus. My dad had to rebuy a Playstation 3 for me and for the first time with Uncharted 2 and Gow 3 for me as a Christmas gift. I wont say much but that meant a lot even still today guys. I am sure you too have those childhood memories those highlights you never forget.

With that said its pretty evident that I have an emotional connection with this game. Firstly this is the last title to this amazing series and what an excellent way to cape it off.

Uncharted kept its familiar gameplay that we already know and made it even better making it smooth with beautiful animations. I also like that you can choose to auto target lock when shooting which is an option I prefer than using an analogue.

I like how the game started and how you get to play a Playstation 1. This immersive experience from the get go was excellent. This also is a good way from Naughty Dog to show the long standing bond they have had with Playstation. Funny enough Crash bandicoot was my first adventure game on PSone. The one I had on disc was Crash Bash. It would really be great honestly if they could revive Crash Bash, there was a lot of minigames within it plus it was a 4 player and its 21years ago.

The storyline is simply great a continuation without missing direction from the previous entries. Its games like this that brought about a movie type of setup, a mature storyline very intriguing. I believe in such a way they contributed in the evolvement of the gaming industry when it comes to this aspect.

The graphics are no point of discussion as we all know how well naughty dog pays attention to detail. Its simply flawless. The one problem I have with this game is I do not think its better than Uncharted 2 and here's why: to me there seemed to be too much jumping and climbing as compared to the other games.

Its not a bad idea but there were instances it became too much within certain missions. This is however a matter of preference as some might enjoy this regardless.

Also to some extent I felt like the action within this 4th entry though its better than the other Uncharted games it seems to me than Uncharted 2 takes the lead. Remember than train scene in Uncharted 2? That was gloriously phenomenal for a now 11 year old game. I hope to go back to that one of these days and discuss on it with you guys and share brief clips that I loved.

With that said I highly recommend anybody who hasn't tried this to jus go for it its worth every dime and your time.

What I would like from this is if they can make one more just one more title with the Playstation 5. They might have to do it without Nate but I think Naughty Dog are really good with upholding their principles of highly captivating games with good graphics rich storylines and more so great attention to detail.

Having no more uncharted for me it takes away a big chunk from the Sony exclusives as this was a true Juggernaut in the gaming industry. I am really hoping for a sequel but clearly I don't know which direction they will wish to take. I don't have anything solid regarding a sequel at the time of this writing but crossing fingers.

Your comments are essential. Cheers.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page