top of page
  • Writer's pictureBevan

Watch Dogs 2


Yet another game I would like to share with you about. Watch Dogs 2 was released in 2016 by Ubisoft and as a sequel to the 2014 Watchdogs installment, lets get right to it. This has been obviously out for a while however Its my first time experience to this sequel.

Graphics

I am currently playing this on Series X and in this segment I have a few complaints. Firstly the game is in a somewhat low pixel container and really the visual draw distance is dated. I don't know maybe its too much exposure to modern titles but I do not like the noisy image look. Its definitely not a hardware problem but the game needs a remaster of just a simple visual pixel update. Its not far from looking good it just looks limited. I am pretty sure PC players can alter the settings here and make it look better but for console experience I am not satisfied. On the flip side on Series X you can boost the framerate and HDR in the compatibility options menu but still the image pixels are not best. With that out of the way though the cutscenes are good but the general presentation has this limitation. Fine graphics but constrained to last gen systems is my overall conclusion here. A modern cost free upgrade would be good just to tweak the overall presentation a bit.

Gameplay

Its actually good and fluid, very much not rigid. Best to be stealthy in the game but it allows you to go what I would say aggro provided you lost your stealth cover. I must say its les forgiving stealth-wise from the original watchdogs I played nearly 10 years ago on my PS4 (which I sold some years ago) because the AI is very much on high alert. I have no complaints to be honest regarding the gameplay just that it can be overwhelming if your cover is blown by the enemies but still you can recover that by shooting them all at least in some missions I played. You are basically getting a GTA experience here but toned down to fit its own narrative.

Story

Here is where I am conflicted. Firstly I am still playing the game and haven't finished it but after playing the first Watchdogs and also GTA V I find it very hard to embrace Watchdogs games. Speaking of the first, I liked the first protagonist surprisingly I think a lot of people did not like him. I just felt like back then the game had a slight dark theme and more of a serious nature than this second installment. Don't get me wrong this is still an interesting story and I am mentioning this based on a couple of missions i have played as i have not yet concluded the game however the first is more dear to me. Secondly GTAV seems to have blown Watchdogs games out of the water. GTAV has everything and playing a Watchdogs game sometimes feels less fulfilling considering the footprint GTAV has made in open worlds of this nature. Nonetheless the story is still developing to me and is not bad at all but not so much striking.


A fairly good game just bogged down by kind of pixelated noisy visuals. That's that for now.


Pros

Good fluid gameplay

allows for visual toggling on on premium Xbox hardware


cons

noisy like image

not very compelling nor striking (interim opinion on this not final until game completion)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page